get-ready-to-rodeo

Blog

Get Ready to Rodeo!

February 26, 2018

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo is one of the biggest and best event of the year in our great city. Scheduled this year to run from Feb. 27 – March 18, it really is a massive experience that is fun for the whole family.

Officially, the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo annually promotes agriculture by hosting an event that educates and entertains the public, showcases Western heritage and provides education opportunities within the community all year long. Through exhibitions and presentation, the show facilitates better agricultural practices.

The event is the world’s largest livestock exhibition show, one of the richest regular-season rodeos and host to one of the world’s largest barbecue cook-off competitions. The show has made an impressive footprint on the livestock industry and the sport of rodeo.

But perhaps it’s biggest impact is on the young people of our state. Since its inception in 1932, the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo has played a notable role in enhancing the lives of thousands of young people in the state of Texas. Specifically, the Rodeo has committed more than $450 million to the youth of Texas.

 

Must-See Events

The Rodeo welcomed a record 2.6 million plus people to the grounds, and more than 1.37 million for the rodeo and concert production inside NRG Stadium, in 2017. A grounds pass grants access into the livestock shows, exhibits and midway. However, food, drinks, games and rides all cost extra. You must also purchase additional tickets for the two-hour nightly rodeo competition at NRG Stadium and the concert that follows.

Although the three-week-long event officially starts tomorrow, there were plenty of big events leading up to it. Last Friday, approximately 3,000 trail riders converged to parade through downtown Houston on Saturday morning. That same morning, more than 9,500 people participated in the Rodeo Run 10k race, 5k fun run/walk, and wheelchair races. And on Saturday night, the three-day Barbecue Cook-off began with more than 250 teams competing.

 

Country Music & Other Concerts

Out of the 20 acts scheduled, 15 performance are country acts, and all bands will play on a brand-new stage for 2018. Here is the schedule of concerts:

  • Garth Brooks — Tuesday, February 27
  • Little Big Town — Wednesday, February 28
  • Blake Shelton — Thursday, March 1
  • Leon Bridges — Friday, March 2
  • Kelsea Ballerini — Saturday, March 3
  • Alessia Cara — Sunday, March 4
  • Rascal Flatts — Monday, March 5
  • Jason Aldean — Tuesday, March 6
  • Thomas Rhett — Wednesday, March 7
  • Luke Bryan — Thursday, March 8
  • Chris Young — Friday, March 9
  • Cody Johnson — Saturday, March 10
  • Calibre 50 — Sunday, March 11
  • Zac Brown Band — Monday, March 12
  • J Balvin — Tuesday, March 13
  • OneRepublic — Wednesday, March 14
  • Keith Urban — Thursday, March 15
  • Chris Stapleton — Friday, March 16
  • Brad Paisley — Saturday, March 17
  • Garth Brooks — Sunday, March 18

 

1 likes